Nine LSTC students receive prestigious national fellowships August 31, 2011

Eight first-year and one second-year master of divinity students at the Lutheran School of Theology at Chicago have received Fund for Theological Education Fellowships (FTE). Only 38 students enrolled in seminaries across the U.S. and Canada were chosen for the awards. LSTC has more FTE fellows than any other seminary or divinity school, including Princeton (eight), Vanderbilt (seven), Duke (six), and the University of Chicago (five.) 

“These fellowships confirm the exceptional gifts for leadership that we see in LSTC students,” said Acting President Philip Hougen. Dorothy Dominiak, director of financial aid, added, “Receiving this type of outside scholarship means that they keep their loan debt to a minimum, which is very important.”

Congregations nominate, support their students

Entering students Rachel Brocker, Kristina Heise, (Mary) Elise Scott, Kyle Severson, Marissa Sidars, Angela Storer and Stephanie Anderson were nominated by their congregations for the FTE fellowships. Applicants must be preparing for congregational parish ministry and have the intellectual and interpersonal gifts for pastoral leadership. Each will receive a $1,000 to $5,000 award, matching support from their nominating congregations for seminary tuition and living expenses. Fellows also attended the FTE Leaders in Ministry Conference, “Renewing the Church in Service to the Common Good,” held June 15 – 19 at Dillard University in New Orleans. The conference provided faith enrichment opportunities for the students who received FTE fellowship grants. The students shared in various worship styles, served in various ways throughout post-Katrina New Orleans, and shared in dialogue, conversation, and vocational reflection with one another.

 Fellows’ nominating congregations

Rachel Brocker - Beautiful Savior Lutheran Church, Vancouver, Wash.
Kristina Heise -  Divinity Lutheran Church, Parma Heights, Ohio
(Mary) Elise Scott - St. Andrew Lutheran Church, Columbia, S.C.
Kyle Severson - Faith Lutheran Church, Joliet, Ill.
Marissa Sidars - Central Lutheran Church, Minneapolis, Minn.
Angela Storer - Celebration Lutheran Church, Chardon, Ohio
Stephanie Anderson  - Roseville Lutheran Church, Roseville, Minn.

Two students receive $10,000 awards

Sarah Rossing, an entering master of divinity student at LSTC has been recognized by the Fund for Theological Education as a young leader who demonstrates exceptional gifts for ministry. She will receive a 2011 FTE Volunteers Exploring Vocation Fellowship, providing $10,000 over three years to help meet expenses and to fund a ministry internship opportunity.  Rossing also attended the FTE Leaders in Ministry Conference in New Orleans.

Second-year master of divinity student Christina Garrett, received a 2011 FTE Ministry Fellowship. It provides a $10,000 award to a second year master of divinity student who has a GPA of 3.3 or higher, and who demonstrates strong leadership abilities for ministry and a deep commitment to the life of the spirit and ministry as a vocation. FTE Ministry Fellows are required to complete a self-designed ministry project, attend the Leaders in Ministry Conference, and participate in two Ministry Fellows Retreats.

About Fund for Theological Education Fellowships

FTE supports the next generation of leaders among pastors and scholars, annually awarding $1.5 million in fellowships and support to gifted young people from all denominations and racial/ethnic backgrounds. A national committee of educators and church leaders selects Congregational and Volunteers Exploring Vocation Fellows from respective pools of applicants. The fellowships are funded by Lilly Endowment, Inc. and the Henry Luce Foundation to foster quality leadership and diversity in pastoral ministry.

Since 1954, FTE has awarded more than 6,100 fellowships. Its alumni serve congregations, schools and communities around the world. FTE fellowships and awards are funded by Lilly Endowment, Inc., and the Henry Luce Foundation. For more information, visit

LSTC FTE Recipients

Pictured above: LSTC FTE Scholarship Recipients: Christina Garrett (back left) received an FTE Ministry Fellowship – a grant for students currently in seminary. (Back left to right) Kyle Severson, Tina Heise, Angie Storer, Rachel Brocker, (front left to right) Marissa Sidars, Stephanie Anderson, and Elise Scott received a Congregational Fellowship, a matching grant to any financial aid given from the fellow’s home congregation.  Congregational Fellowships are given to students who are entering their first year of seminary.  Sarah Rossing (front right) received a Volunteers Exploring Vocation Fellowship for young adults who have done a year of volunteer service and are entering their first year of seminary.

Stephanie Anderson contributed to this news release.


Dorothy Dominiak
Director of Financial Aid and Admissions

Jan Boden
Director of Communication and Marketing

The Lutheran School of Theology (LSTC) is dedicated to bearing witness to the good news of Jesus Christ. Based in Chicago’s Hyde Park neighborhood, it is the leading urban Lutheran seminary training students for purposeful vocations in the global community. Aligned with its Lutheran heritage and built on a foundation of intellectual rigor, LSTC’s innovative, nationally recognized curriculum gives students skills for visionary Christian leadership in the public sphere.

Back to top