"For the Sake of All People" music and mission event will highlight LSTC's advanced studies program January 23, 2009

On Sunday, February 15, Gloria Dei Lutheran Church, 4501 Main Street, Downers Grove, Ill., will host a hymn festival, reception and dinner highlighting the mission of LSTC's advanced studies program, its students and the scholarships that support them. 

"For the Sake of All People" begins with a hymn festival at 4:00 p.m. led by Daniel Schwandt, cantor to the seminary community. The free hymn festival will feature music from around the world.

A reception planned by international Th.M. and Ph.D. students begins at 5 p.m. They will introduce their countries and their ministries.

Tickets for a 6 p.m. mission dinner are available for $25 from Deb Cerny at Gloria Dei (630-968-6231, ext. 107) or Bernadine Gibson at LSTC (773-256-0710).

"At LSTC, faith and reason are viewed as complementary and mutually enriching, not as exclusive opposites," explains Dr. Esther Menn, LSTC's Director of Advanced Studies and Professor of Old Testament. "As our Th.M. and Ph.D. students faithfully seek to engage God's voice with the voices of the world, LSTC seeks to support them through generous scholarship assistance."  

In the current economic climate, students need scholarship assistance more than ever. LSTC's graduate students, many of whom come from Asia, Africa, and Latin America, rely on scholarship support to assist them in providing for themselves and their families as they study. The more scholarship support they receive, the more time they can devote to their programs of study.

LSTC currently offers five fellowships that are designated for graduate-level studies.

  • The Robert Marshall Fellowship is awarded to North American students preparing for teaching ministries. Rob Saler (USA) and Jon Gill (USA) received the 2008-09 Marshall Fellowships.
  • The William and Betty Danker Fellowship is for international students preparing for teaching ministries. This year's recipients of the Danker Fellowship are Wiriya Tipvarakankoon (Thailand) and Ji-Woon Yoo (South Korea).
  • The James Scherer Fellowship is awarded each year to an international student.  Ishaya Gajere (Nigeria) received the award this year.
  • The Sehy Scholarship supports students in the area of interfaith studies. Niveen Sarras (Palestine) received the scholarship for 2008-09.
  • The Ralph Klein PhD. Fellowship for Biblical Studies is being established to support Ph.D. students in Old or New Testament Studies. 



Jessica Nipp
Director for Advancement


Jan Boden
Director of Communication and Marketing

The Lutheran School of Theology (LSTC) is dedicated to bearing witness to the good news of Jesus Christ. Based in Chicago’s Hyde Park neighborhood, it is the leading urban Lutheran seminary training students for purposeful vocations in the global community. Aligned with its Lutheran heritage and built on a foundation of intellectual rigor, LSTC’s innovative, nationally recognized curriculum gives students skills for visionary Christian leadership in the public sphere.

Back to top