The Lutheran School of Theology at Chicago Board of Directors Elects New Officers June 13, 2006

At its spring meeting, the Lutheran School of Theology at Chicago Board of Directors elected new officers to serve for one year terms. Dr. David Wegge, board representative from the East Central Synod of Wisconsin will chair the board. The Rev. Dr. Terry Baeder, representative for the Metropolitan Chicago Synod is the new vice chair. Mr. Juan Garcia, representing the Southwestern Texas Synod will serve a second term as secretary. Mr. Richard Hoefs was elected treasurer.

"LSTC is fortunate to have serving as board officers people who bring experience, passion, and vision to their tasks," said President James Kenneth Echols. "The seminary will benefit greatly from their leadership."

The LSTC Board of Directors, composed of representatives from Evangelical Lutheran Church in America synods in regions 4 and 5 and the Vocation and Education unit of the ELCA, meets in the fall and spring of each year to govern the seminary. They have oversight of the entire seminary, including setting policies, adopting long- and short-range goals, electing members of the faculty and administration, and assuming ultimate responsibility for the financial affairs of the institution. Officers of the board also confer several other times throughout the year as members of the board's executive committee of the board.


Jan Boden
Director of Communication and Marketing

The Lutheran School of Theology (LSTC) is dedicated to bearing witness to the good news of Jesus Christ. Based in Chicago’s Hyde Park neighborhood, it is the leading urban Lutheran seminary training students for purposeful vocations in the global community. Aligned with its Lutheran heritage and built on a foundation of intellectual rigor, LSTC’s innovative, nationally recognized curriculum gives students skills for visionary Christian leadership in the public sphere.

Back to top