Lutheran School of Theology at Chicago

LSTC >> Communications >> News


LSTC Gospel Choir Hosts 17th Annual Benefit Concert April 23

Posted Mar 28, 2006

The Lutheran School of Theology at Chicago Gospel Choir will host seven area choirs for "Bless Me," its 17th annual benefit concert for the Grover Wright and Carole A. Burns Scholarships. The April 23 concert begins at 4:00 p.m. in the Augustana Chapel at LSTC, 1100 East 55th Street in Chicago.

A freewill offering designated for the scholarships will be gathered. Concert sponsorships and additional donations for the scholarships are welcome at any time. The Grover Wright and Carole A. Burns Scholarships are awarded to LSTC students of color or whose first language is other than English.

"We are blessed to have so many excellent choirs performing for the concert," said LSTC Gospel Choir founder and manager, Patricia Bartley. Choirs include the Chicago Community Chorus, Jubilee Faith Community Choir, Giant Steps Praise Team, St. Mark's Lutheran Church Youth Choir, Bethany Evangelical Lutheran Church Choir, McCormick Theological Seminary Community Choir, and the LSTC Chapel Singers. LSTC's Gospel Choir, led by Keith Hampton, will also perform.

The concert is part of LSTC's new Chapel Music Series, which includes both sacred and secular music ranging from classical to contemporary compositions. For a full list of series events and dates, see


Jan Boden
Director of Communications

The Lutheran School of Theology at Chicago (LSTC), a seminary of the Evangelical Lutheran Church in America, forms visionary leaders who bear witness to the good news of Jesus Christ. It provides high-quality seminary and graduate education for women and men in a community that is global, multicultural, ecumenical, interfaith, and urban. LSTC faculty provides resources for the whole church through their research, writing, and workshops and presentations around the world. Graduates serve in every type of ministry setting as they work to realize the gospel vision of peace and justice.

Page last modified Mar 24, 2016