Lutheran School of Theology at Chicago

LSTC >> About LSTC >> Quick Facts
Esther Menn

Teaching Hebrew allows me to put students in touch with the world of the Bible and with contemporary Judaism.

- Esther R. Menn, Ralph W. and Marilyn R. Klein Professor of Old Testament

Read Student Profiles

Download Quick Facts Bulletin Insert for Congregations (PDF)

Quick Facts About LSTC

The Lutheran School of Theology at Chicago, a seminary of the Evangelical Lutheran Church in America, forms visionary leaders to bear witness to the good news of Jesus Christ.

It seeks to build up the body of Christ and work for a world of peace and justice that care for the whole creation.

Students 290 (Fall 2012)

  • 68% - ELCA (all degree programs)
  • 92% - ELCA (M.Div. & M.A. programs)
  • From 46 ELCA synods
  • Ecumenical & interfaith – from seven other Christian denominations, and Islam
  • 28% - from 18 countries
  • 47% - Female
  • 53% - Male
  • 66% - resident (M.Div. & M.A. programs)
  • 33% - commuter (M.Div. & M.A. programs)

Degree programs Master of Divinity (M.Div.)

  • Master of Arts (two options: Master of Arts in Ministry [M.A.M.] or
  • Master of Arts in Theological Studies [M.A.T.S.])
  • Master of Theology (Th.M.)
  • Doctor of Ministry ( D.Min.)
  • Doctor of Philosophy (Ph.D.)

Financial aid Approximately 80% of students in the M.A. or M.Div. programs receive scholarship or financial assistance. The average award to students in all programs covers 54% of tuition and fees.

Faculty 19 full-time faculty, one of the most diverse in U.S. seminaries, with worldwide reputations for innovative teaching and scholarship


Emphases Course of study within M.A. or M.Div. program to allow students to gain expertise in these areas:

  • African Descent Ministry
  • American Indian and Native Alaskan Ministry
  • Asian American Ministry
  • Biblical Studies
  • Environmental Ministry
  • Hispanic/Latino Ministry
  • Interfaith Studies
  • Religion and Science Studies
  • Urban Ministry

Special programs

ELCA Supported by the 18 synods of Regions 4 and 5

  • Member of the Covenant Cluster with Wartburg Theological Seminary and Trinity Lutheran Seminary.
  • Access to resources at the churchwide office in Chicago

Founded 1962 by four predecessor seminaries. Two other seminaries later became part of LSTC. Classes began at current location in September 1967.

Predecessor Schools

  • Augustana Theological Seminary, Rock Island, Ill., (1860) Grand View Seminary, Des Moines, Iowa, (1886)
  • Chicago Lutheran Theological Seminary, Maywood, Ill., (1891) Suomi Theological Seminary, Hancock, Mich., (1896)
  • Central Lutheran Theological Seminary, Fremont, Neb., (1893)
  • In 1983, 10 members of the Christ Seminary-Seminex faculty were deployed to LSTC. In December 1987 the two schools were unified in order to serve the ELCA.
  • Christ Seminary-Seminex¬† (1974) - In 1983, 10 members of the Seminex faculty were deployed to LSTC; in December 1987 the two schools were unified.
Page last modified Mar 24, 2016